Confession of Incompetence

That thin pulsing streak
of blood on the side
of my hand?
Opening an envelope.

The shriveled mangos?
I bought a case on sale,
but who has time to cook?
I’ve bought more.

Don’t blame the computer
for its hot case,
frozen screen. It’s new.
The problem is me.

That turquoise fabric?
It’s for a vest
I started making for Mom,
ten years ago.

That streak of bleeding
blurred white across
the sky? I had nothing
to do with it.

5 responses to “Confession of Incompetence

  1. Well you seem to have captured quite a bit of my week in this one. Feel like have put my foot in it several times. With luck next week will be better.

  2. The problem with this one was to be selective and remotely poetic. I could go on and on and on about all the things I’ve messed up on a regular basis.

  3. like this a lot. Hope you’ve had a good month!

    • Thanks so much for the thoughtful comment! Yes, this has been a challenging, exhausting, and rewarding month. But you know the challenges of writing daily poems!

  4. Pingback: Confession Series, 2012 #NaPoWriMo #30in30 | Rosefire Rising

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.