Creation of Stained Glass

The first stained glass was sunlight
bright shining through the trees,
broad flat
overlapped
hot petals and sour leaves.

The demarkation of light
and shadow made lines as crisp
as lead
but fluid
and limply mutable.

Colors bright as that famed fruit
whose flavour first made folk say
this is
a private
moment, when everything is

alive with savor and portents,
purpose and sensation,
the light
makes urgent
more than at any other time.

Millennia before glass,
before geometry,
logic,
men’s fires,
cultivation’s mysteries;

before St. Patrick’s shamrock,
before Venn diagram’s
shadow
faint between
two brights, the meaning of three

was there to see — apricot
gold, mango orange frame between
the two
a spearhead
shadow bold as bittersweet.

7 responses to “Creation of Stained Glass

  1. I love this one. The imagery makes me think of the beautiful stained glass windows I saw at the DIA last weekend. They do seem to take one out of the busy world and allow a private moment. I agreee the same feelingd can come from sunlight on ice crystals, spider webs, leaves, flowers, and the water at sunrise or sunset.

  2. I love your comment! You are a poet, too!

  3. I got to depend on the things you write- in the morning they open the day wide and let fresh air and light in.

  4. I am surrounded by poets. :) Lovely images.

  5. Your poetry has rapidly become one of my daily delights. Gorgeous stuff.

  6. Wow! Whatever I did today really is getting the comments. :) Thank you, Meredith, that is a lovely thing to say. I don’t know if I can keep this going past NaPoWriMo, but am thinking about giving it a try.

  7. Pingback: Creation of Stained Glass [Video] | Rosefire Rising

Leave a Reply

