Confession of Bewilderment

I don’t know what to say.
To anyone. About
anything. There are times
when the space between now
and then seems so thin, spare
and rarified I can
hardly bear to breathe in.
There are places where time
between here and there slides
gently into a prayer,
as if hollowed out just
to fit that one exact
lightness of breath, cradling
that quiet whiff before
the aftermath, easy
and right. There was something,
familiarity first
before recognition,
recognition before
understanding. It was
only much further down
the road to encounter
that sign spelled, “ACHE,” and know
what it said. Ah, ah, ah …

3 responses to “Confession of Bewilderment

  1. There are many days I find myself saying the same (I donot knwo what to say about anyhting to anyone). Prayer would be a much better path out of that place than trying to figure out how I got there.

  2. When I don’t know something, it seems that prayer is where I go first. Last night, I was thinking I didn’t know what to write!

  3. Pingback: Confession Series, 2012 #NaPoWriMo #30in30 | Rosefire Rising

Leave a Reply

