Confession of Success

i.
“Hi, my name is X, and I am
really quite good at what I do.”
Now, please don’t hurt me. Or hate me.

ii.
Success should be another one
of those four-letter words. You know —
like fail, hate, and kill. After all,
they seem to go together well.

iii.
The kid in school who knows too much
spends their recess in the corner
of the playground, with bricks & wire.

The kid in school who can’t answer
spends their recess in the corner
of the playground, with bricks & wire.

iv.
“Fatso!” yells the skinny sister
at the skinnier sister. “What,”
asks fat sister, “does that make me?”

v.
“I’m sorry,” apologizes
the contest winner to the next
runner up, who clenches their jaw.

vi.
The funeral service packed full
of people who didn’t have to
be there, people who wanted to.

vii.
“The happiest man in the world
is the one who makes others happy.”
I propose a corollary:
“The most successful people
in the world are those who make
others successful (and happy).”

3 responses to “Confession of Success

  1. The essence of teaching.

  2. Glad there was something useful in here. I feel like I’m really slipping …

  3. Pingback: Confession Series, 2012 #NaPoWriMo #30in30 | Rosefire Rising

Leave a Reply

