Confession of Incomprehension

I don’t get it. What’s the point? Climb onto a couch and talk
to a therapist if what you want is understanding.
Stress relief? Talk to a friend, relative, stranger. Or walk
around and talk to yourself. You know the story’s ending,
after all. Or forgiveness? Talk to whoever it was
you wronged, or talk to God. If you hurt someone, make it right.
If you can’t make it right for them, adopt it as your cause,
make it right for someone, at least. Whatever is the fight,
isn’t it between them and you, or you and God? Where is
a sacrament for the breakings we can’t forget? Guarded
against things done to us that shame us beyond forgiveness,
ashamed even to be ashamed. So, where this all started:
standing in a long line in a dark church, saying, “Father,
forgive me for I have sinned, but I don’t know why I’m here.”

3 responses to “Confession of Incomprehension

  1. Pingback: Confession Series, 2012 #NaPoWriMo #30in30 | Rosefire Rising

  2. These feeiings I relate to all too well.

  3. I wonder sometimes if most people don’t feel like this. I truly don’t know.

Leave a Reply

