Our Lady of Stillness

That gown of rose petals, that cloak of stars.
The streaks of light crossing a dusty sky.
She does not flinch away from spears of light.
Even surrounded with beauty, she stands
like a statue, neutral and stiff. Stillness
of the body obscures the dense vivid
energy inside. Heaviness of grief
layered over grief, loss over loss carves
a new landscape in her eyes, where tears dry
into watercolors of a later
delight predicted by none, yet to come.

2 responses to “Our Lady of Stillness

  1. I only get to enjoy that level of stillness when I am camping in the wilderness – yet I think I have felt that level of loneliness when I lose a loved one (my dad’s hospice room was very quiet when he died)

Leave a Reply

