Daily Archives: April 19, 2017

Braggadocious.

“Turn not your Back to others especially in Speaking, Jog not the Table or Desk on which Another reads or writes, lean not upon any one.” G. Washington

The grass says:

I tell you, there is
a hard storm coming.
Just feel the dryness.

I cry out against
thunder and pounding;
I rage against it.
But you don’t hear me.

The air says:

I am much stronger
than you imagine.
You can’t know my weight,
my enormity,

my hugeness, how much
I carry, how much
I touch. I am full
of heat, of water.

Beware, or I will
release what I hold.

The pond says:

I am flat. Trust me.
You don’t want to be
around when I’m flat.
That’s just the surface.

Do you have any
idea what is
happening below?
The hidden battles,

the slow and sluggish
slide into fury.

The stones say:

You think I’m heavy,
but I remember
air, and air knows me.
Winds can lift, and I

can fly. I can fly
to you, but I am
still stone. I can throw
myself, and then fall.

