/Stumbles Uninvited.

“Read no Letters, Books, or Papers in Company but when there is a Necessity for the doing of it you must ask leave: come not near the Books or Writings of Another so as to read them unless desired or give your opinion of them unasked also look not nigh when another is writing a Letter.” G. Washington

I’m sorry, I didn’t mean to.
We try so hard to be detailed,
accurate. I was doing it
all. Yes, I was doing my best.
I was doing the best I could.
You did the best you could. We both
made mistakes. We all made mistakes.
It was no one’s fault. It wasn’t
either of us. It was just a
mistake. A glitch. An oversight.
An error. A revelation.
A miscalculation. A flaw.
How did I miss that? Yes, you’re right,

I’m not very good at that. It’s
an eye-opener. It’s open
access. I guess. Maybe I was
too open, or maybe too closed.
I don’t know. I didn’t want to.
I didn’t have access. I was
taking notes. I kept good records.
It was a typo. The other
set of data. It was the wrong
sample. The reviewer didn’t
like what they saw. There’s a conflict
of interest. At least a conflict,
anyway. There was some bias.

There was an insertion of bias.
It was inadvertent. It was
the selection. It was biased.
It was the color of her clothes.
Pink. It was the look on her face.
Her face was pink. It was the look
on your face. Foreboding. It was
a misreading. Body language.
It was the coding we used. Black.
Blue. It wasn’t a secret code.
I didn’t understand. Black and
blue. I am confounded. I am
confused. Just blue. I am afraid

I am out of time. I’m trying
to fix it. I’m trying to fix
everything. I said I’m sorry.
Didn’t you hear me? I’m sorry.
I take it back. I swear, I take
it all, all back, all of it. I
didn’t mean it. What? Whatever
you want. I’ll do it over. I’ll
do it again. I won’t ever
do it again. Do whatever
you want. Honest. I didn’t do
whatever it was. I didn’t.
I’m not that kind. I won’t. I’m not.

2 responses to “/Stumbles Uninvited.

  1. Bias sneaks in way more often then I would like. I get tired and speak without thinking. Then comes the apologies and another lesson learned

Leave a Reply

