Fixed & Floating

The new moon cracks open,
breaking into dissolving light,
dissolving into broken faces.

Beneath the stern white star
staring into my eyes blinks a bright glittering
golden gem. Turn. Straight. Turn.

The stoplights wink at me,
three chuckling cherry stars
daring me to keep going.

After some time, the light
extends a long leg, a dark root,
bending toward me, a giant
curious about small things.

Lopsided butterfly
slowly opens and closes
torn white wings.

2 responses to “Fixed & Floating

  1. Lots of good imagery – I have been thinking about my interpretation of it for a while. Not sure I have one beyond bright lights during a late night walk – I do look the notion of them representing the sun and moon and perhaps guiding stars.

    • Guiding stars … I like that. I’ve been paying more attention to the shifts in my astigmatism with Long COVID. My vision keeps changing. Thus what I see is noteworthy in new ways.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.